Movies for the best international feature film award at the 2020 Academy Awards have started to jump in, so lets check some fresh details and a movie list

This year the award for ‘foreign-language film’ will be given under the new name as ‘best international feature film’, after a change from April. The rules will remain the same: A foreign feature film is defined as a picture produced outside the US with a dominantly non-English dialog track and can include documentary and animated featured.

Submitted movies must have been released in their countries between October 1 2018 and September 30 2019.

2019’s award saw 87 submissions, with nominations for Lebanon’s Capernaum, Poland’s Cold War, Germany’s Never Look Away and Japan’s Shoplifters, with the award going to Alfonso Cuarón’s Mexican family drama ROMA.

The 92nd Academy Awards will take place on February 9, 2020 at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles, US.

Latest submissions

Austria: Joy (Sudabeh Mortezai)

German-born Mortezai brought her fourth feature to Venice in 2018, where it played in Venice Days and won the Europa Cinemas Label. It gives a modern view of the sex slave trade through the bitter experiences of two Nigerian women forced into European prostitution. This is Austria’s 43rd submission to the international award; it has won twice, in 2013 for Michael Haneke’s Amour and 2008 for Stefan Ruzowitsky’s The Counterfeiters, and received two nominations for Götz Spielmann’s Revanche in 2009 and Wolfgang Glück’s ’38 – Vienna Before The Fall in 1987.

Croatia: Mali (Antonio Nuić)

Croatia has submitted to the international award every year since the year following its independence in 1991, but is yet to receive a nomination from 27 previous entries. Nuić’s Mali centres Frenki, a drug dealer recently released from prison who fights for custody of his son. The film launched at the country’s Pula Film Festival in July 2018.

SpainPain And Glory(Pedro Almodóvar)

With his seventh time representing Spain in the international feature category, Almodóvar sets a new record for the country, ahead of José Luis Garci’s six occasions. Cannes 2019 Competition title Pain & Glory reunites him with regular collaborators Antonio Banderas (who won best actor on the Croisette) and Penelope Cruz for the autobiographical story of a director looking back at his life and career. Spain has an impressive four wins and 15 nominations for the international award, with the former group including Almodóvar’s All About My Mother in 2000, and most recently Alejandro Amenábar’s The Sea Inside in 2005. Read the full story here.

Uruguay: The Moneychanger (Federico Veiroj)

Veiroj represents his country for the second time in the Oscar submissions after A Useful Life was submitted for the 2011 awards. The country’s 19 entries have brought neither wins nor nominations so far. Toronto 2019 Platform world premiere The Moneychanger is a 1970s set thriller about a man who enters the world of currency exchange and becomes addicted to it.


  • Belgium: Our Mothers (César Díaz)
  • Estonia: Truth and Justice (Tanel Toom)
  • Finland: Stupid Young Heart (Selma Vihunen)
  • Georgia: Shindisi (Dito Tsintsadze)
  • Germany: System Crasher (Nora Fingscheidt)
  • Hungary: Those Who Remained (Barnabás Tóth)
  • Netherlands: Instinct (Halina Reijn)
  • North Macedonia: Honeyland (Tamara Kotevska, Ljubomir Stefanov)
  • Norway: Out Stealing Horses (Hans Petter Moland)
  • Romania: The Whistlers (Corneliu Porumboiu)
  • Sweden: And Then We Danced (Levan Akin)
  • Switzerland: Wolkenbruch’s Wondrous Journey Into The Arms Of A Shiksa (Michael Steiner)
  • Turkey: Commitment (Semih Kaplanoğlu)
  • Ukraine: Homeward (Nariman Aliev)


  • Cambodia: In The Life of Music (Caylee So, Sok Visal)
  • Iran: Finding Farideh (Kourosh Ataee, Azadeh Moussavi)
  • Japan: Weathering With You (Makoto Shinkai)
  • Palestine: It Must Be Heaven (Elia Suleiman)
  • South Korea: Parasite (Bong Joon-ho)


  • Algeria: Papicha (Mounia Meddour)
  • Morocco: Adam (Maryam Touzani)
  • Tunisia: Dear Son (Mohamed Ben Attia)


  • Brazil: The Invisible Life Of Eurídice Gusmão (Karim Aïnouz)
  • Colombia: Monos (Alejandro Landes)
  • Cuba: A Translator (Rodrigo Barriuso, Sebastián Barriuso)
  • Dominican Republic: The Projectionist (José María Cabral)
  • Ecuador: The Longest Night (Gabriela Calvache)
  • Panama: Everybody Changes (Arturo Montenegro)

What would be your pick?

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)